“We find, curate and progress novel cancer therapeutics.”

Oncology One has united highly skilled and respected leaders in the biotechnology sector, to raise and deploy meaningful capital to progress small molecule cancer drug development programs towards the clinic. We are working to curate and develop high quality programs that aim to meet unmet clinical needs, inclusive of underserved areas such as paediatric and rare cancers.


Oncology One has attracted world-leading experts in medical research, clinical practice and commercialisation. We are a lean, hard-working team, supported by our Scientific Advisory Board that live and breathe oncology innovation across the globe. We are curious and tenacious in our efforts to find and progress projects that can positively impact the lives of people with cancer.


Professor Ian Street

 Chair of Scientific Advisory Board

Ms Mary Harney

Chair of the Board



305 Grattan Street, Melbourne, VIC 3000 Australia


Professor Shelley Dolan is Chief Executive of the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, Australia’s only public hospital solely dedicated to cancer treatment, research and education and home to Australia’s largest cancer research program. Shelley joined Peter Mac in September 2019.

Prior to joining Peter Mac, Shelley was Acting CEO and Chief Nurse of the King's College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust. She has a Masters Degree in cancer nursing, a PhD in the early diagnosis of sepsis in cancer patients and has also led the successful design and clinical roll out of new Electronic Patient Records.

Shelley has extensive clinical and research leadership experience and over 18 years as a Board Director both Non Executive and Executive. She has a positive track record of leading major organisational and cultural change in healthcare and has enjoyed engaging relationships with Clinical Leaders and CEOs nationally and internationally for over 20 years.

Shelley is a Professor (Enterprise) of the Melbourne School of Health Science, University of Melbourne. She is the Chair of the Western & Central Melbourne Integrated Cancer Service, a Board member of the Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre and the CRC Participant Director for the Oncology One Board.

Over the past 30 years, Dr Ian Street has dedicated his career to translational research and small molecule drug discovery. 

He completed his BSc (Hons) in chemistry at the University of Sussex, UK and his PhD in chemistry and enzymology at the University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada. 

After a postdoctoral appointment in the USA, he joined Merck Research labs in Montreal and spent the next 11 years working in the Pharma/Biotech industry in both North America and Australia. In 2001 he transitioned back to academia and accepted an appointment at the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute (WEHI) as Laboratory Head and Deputy Director of the Cellular Growth factors Cooperative Research Centre. 

In 2003 he established the WEHI/Bio21 High Throughput Screening (HTS) Laboratory, the first academic group of its kind in Australia. 

In 2007 Dr Street co-founded the successful Cancer Therapeutics Cooperative Research Centre (CTx), to provide an innovative collaborative framework that effectively integrates academic research with an industry-style small molecule drug discovery and commercialisation platform to deliver novel, highly differentiated cancer therapies. 

Dr Street was the Chief Scientist of CTx for over 11 years, which included licensing six lucrative projects to pharmaceutical and biotechnology companies. 

Dr Street’s work has contributed to five new investigational agents entering clinical trials, two FDA approved drugs, over $130 million in grants and commercial funding, and over $365 million in milestone and royalty payments flowing to Australian organisations, granted and licensed patents, and high impact publications.

Mary Harney is a cross sectoral specialist with three decades of board, company secretarial and C-Suite executive experience in the health, agricultural, pharmaceutical and biotechnology sectors. She is a Non-executive Director of ASX listed Race Oncology (ASX:RAC).

Mary is the director of specialist consulting firm - Mary Harney Advisory - providing leadership, governance and strategic advice across industries such as health and biotech. She is a business builder and convergence specialist with a proven ability to connect innovative ideas and people.

Mary is the Monash University 2016 ‘Science Alumni of the Year’ and the 2015 B-HERT Awardee for Excellence in Collaboration - industry and academia - with Monash University. She is a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Managers and Leaders.